What do you do to play fast guitar solos?????

Here musicians can talk to each other about making music etc. Of course if you are not a musician you are still welcomed to this board, but the topics should somehow be about making music.
stratoplayer
What do you do to play fast guitar solos?????

Post by stratoplayer » Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:51 am

hi, im an amateur guitar player who enjoys TRYING to tackle stato and sonata songs, but the solos are nearly imposible.
i know about the rule of practice practice practice
but i want tips like finger placement, warm up excersices, whatever, help pleez!!!
Close your eyes and try to remember, destroyed lullabies of days gone by
Close your eyes on the edge of forever, a chance to dream fast asleep your nightmare ends

khamael

Re: What do you do to play fast guitar solos?????

Post by khamael » Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:58 am

i 'm not a guitarist, but i can say that...5 or 6 years ago, despite my long classical training i couldnt play Stratovarius's solos or more difficult parts...

now with practice , i can play 90% of the solos ( a little changed, to add a touch of mine, wich i think is essential to ahve your own style)...not as beautiful as the originals but...

Jens's solos like those in Glory of the World or Learning to Fly are REALLY hard, nearby impossibles. Jens is not a god for nothing. :wink:

Sonata's or COB's solos are really much easier.

NeonVomit

Post by NeonVomit » Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:03 am

Learn scales. Minor scales especially. Many different fingerings, in many different registers. Once you can play an A minor scale very very fast, you should be able to handle most solos.
"Beneath the freezing sky arrives Winter's Verge..."

http://www.wintersverge.com

I'm going to hell, and loving the ride!

htcdude

Post by htcdude » Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:22 am

You move your fingers reeeeeeeally fast :D