How to become a good drummer?

Here musicians can talk to each other about making music etc. Of course if you are not a musician you are still welcomed to this board, but the topics should somehow be about making music.
-=Bulbin=-
How to become a good drummer?

Post by -=Bulbin=- » Tue Apr 26, 2005 3:07 pm

Well, I've been playing drums for about 7 years now. I feel that my technique has improved alot during these years, but now it feels like I'm stuck. Does anyone know any hints or exercises that could improve my drumming? It might be good for you to know that I'm mainly playing metal of different kinds. :) But i guess that it's good to be able to play all sorts of music. :)

DW5000AD3

Re: How to become a good drummer?

Post by DW5000AD3 » Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:06 am

if you want more speed.....listen to vital remains, its the fastest drumming i`ve heard up to date, take a look at the "deschristianize" song.
"Theater Of Salvation"

NeonVomit

Post by NeonVomit » Thu Apr 28, 2005 1:11 am

Looking at it as a musician, start playing lots of strange rhythms and patterns, and become fluent with many different time signiatures. Drums arent all about playing fast. Also, look up a thing called 'DYNAMICS' it's something I've yet to encounter a drummer knowing what they are (sorry to generalise, but it's true).
"Beneath the freezing sky arrives Winter's Verge..."

http://www.wintersverge.com

I'm going to hell, and loving the ride!

MaFiaBoY

Post by MaFiaBoY » Thu Apr 28, 2005 1:40 am

A good educational video can make a lot too. I'd recommend Progressive Drum Concepts by Mike Portnoy.
Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated ~desu

NeonVomit

Post by NeonVomit » Thu Apr 28, 2005 1:50 am

MaFiaBoY wrote:A good educational video can make a lot too. I'd recommend Progressive Drum Concepts by Mike Portnoy.
I knew you'd say that :D

MaFiaBoY

Post by MaFiaBoY » Thu Apr 28, 2005 1:56 am

NeonVomit wrote: