You people who are smarter than I am in recording...

Here musicians can talk to each other about making music etc. Of course if you are not a musician you are still welcomed to this board, but the topics should somehow be about making music.
Kain´s seventh son
You people who are smarter than I am in recording...

Post by Kain´s seventh son » Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:37 am

Tell me some quality programs that can be used on home computers to record, mix and master demo-based songs :) thank you :)

I have some experience in past of programs like soundforge and T-Rax, but we are planning of making some new home-recordings, and thus need new programs :?

Following would be nice:
Drum machine (or similar)
Synth simulation program..
Basic recording/mixing software..
Basic mastering software..
(something else vital to record songs that I can't remember now...) :)

Thank you for co-operation :)
"Even if I walk through all the circles of hell for you, you wouldn't even piss on me. But it's too late, it's too late my dear.
Because I'm already there!"

Protection-Perkele of Stratoforum

The Ruckus Brigade

Lugarid

Re: You people who are smarter than I am in recording...

Post by Lugarid » Wed Jul 19, 2006 2:01 am

synth sim - Native Instruments Absynth
mixing/recording - Cakewalk Sonar
mastering/editing - Steinberg Wavelab

these are what I used for demo-ing (note that i don`t have any idea what my keyboard player did to the absynth to make it sound like it did...you'll get the picture if you don't play keyboards). as for drums...i don't really know...btw...you can try Native Instruments Guitar Rig for extra efects on guitar/bass if the players don't have really good processors.

note that all this software costs quite a darn lot and you need a soundcard with ASIO capabilities

Miguel_Ricardo

Post by Miguel_Ricardo » Wed Jul 19, 2006 2:14 am

audition for recording and mastering

fruity loops for drums